//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

A Stationery Experiment

This paper-tole inspired card and envelope were made for a friend’s birthday using cereal packaging turned inside out and found items such as string, tin foil and crepe paper.
The little girl (Miss Florence) was produced by Sydney illustrator Kirbee Lawler whose work featured on an Avantcard that I found at a local second-hand book store. An effective way to market yourself around the country – albeit hard on the trees. In the interest of recycling such a cute piece of work, I’ve adapted the postcard into my stationary collage. The bed linen is cut out of a canvas bag that I picked up at a university fair. The pillows are stuffed with bubble wrap and sewn shut. I have kept the colours subdued to keep the crafty feel…I really could have gotten carried away with this and built a whole house.
I’ve never tried my hand at stationery before, but it was good to attempt something new in my cut-out style, which I have previously used for my animated short Around The World and my fairies illustrations.
Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Connect

